What are the 7 Chakras

What Are The 7 Chakras And What Do They Mean?

You have probably heard of the word Chakras before – in TV or film, yoga class or in discussion with wellness experts. But what are the 7 Chakras, and what do they mean? Here is our introductory guide to these energy points.

Where Do Chakras Come From?

Chakras are part of an ancient Indian system that was first introduced in the religious texts of the Vedas in India. Dating back to around 1500BC, this energy system has stood the test of time, with many still using the knowledge to this day.

What are Chakras?

The word Chakra translates as ‘wheel’. Chakras are the energy centers in your body. Chakras could be aligned and open to allow the body to work well both physically and emotionally. The Chakras correspond to areas of the body and there are 114 of them altogether. Some chakras are more important than others.  The seven main Chakras run along your spine starting from the base of your spine to the top of your head. 

The Seven Main Chakras and What They Affect

Root Chakras - Grounding

The Root Chakra, or Muladharais located at the base of your spine.  The root chakra energy affects your sense of security and stability.  If there is an issue with your root chakra, this can lead to physical health issues such as arthritis, bladder and colon problems. Emotionally, you can also be left feeling insecure and worried. When the root chakra is balanced, you will feel secure and grounded.

Sacral Chakra - Emotions and Intimacy

Your Sacral Chakra, Svadhisthana, is located just below your belly button.  The Sacral Chakra affects your creative and sexual energy.  It is also responsible for emotional understanding and awareness.  Imbalance in your Sacral Chakra can lead to issues with your organs, lower back and urinary tract. When the Sacral Chakra is balanced, you will feel spontaneous, social, and sensual.  

Solar Plexus Chakra - Wisdom and Power

The third chakra or Solar Plexus Chakra is located in our abdomen.  The Sacral Chakra is responsible for your personal power, warrior energy, and self esteem.  When out of balance, you may experience issues with It can cause issues with digestion and decision making. When you feel confident, motivated, and have a strong sense of purpose, your Solar Plexus Chakra is open and healthy.


Heart Chakra - Love and Healing

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is located near your heart.  Your Heart Chakra affects your ability for unconditional love for yourself and others, emotional strength, and compassion.   If blocked, can lead to heart problems and asthma. It can also lead to the inability to connect to others and feelings of loneliness. When your Heart Chakra is in alignment, you feel loved, compassionate, and joyous. 

Throat Chakra - Communication

The Throat Chakra, or Vishuddha is located in your throat.  This Chakra is all about expression - expression of yourself and communication with others– both internal and external. A blocked Throat Chakra can lead to physical ailments such as neck pain, soar throat, or upper respiratory problems.  Emotionally, you may feel shy or socially anxious when your Throat Chakra is out of alignment  Meditation is the best way to balance the Throat Chakra.  

Third Eye Chakra - Awareness

Located in the space between your eyebrows, the Third Eye Chakra, or Ajna, provides your gut instinct and intuition.  Imbalance can lead to physical problems such as headaches or hearing issues. You may lack clarity or vision or feel stuck in the daily grind. When the third eye chakra is aligned, you may feel open, wise, and intuitive, with the ability to see the bigger picture. 

Crown Chakra- Spirituality

The final chakra is the Crown Chakra, or or Sahasrara.  This Chakra is located on the top (or crown) of your head.  The Crown Chakra oversees every other chakra and your brain. It represents your spiritual connection to yourself, others, and the universe.  If out of alignment, you may feel uninspired, disconnected, and a bit flat.  Living in gratitude and service to others are important for keeping your Crown Chakra balanced.   

Mediation and Chakras

To help re-energize and re-balance each of your chakras, try and take up the art of meditation. This will help open your chakras and improve your mind-body-spirit balance, leading to many health and wellness benefits. A Chakra stone, mantra, and/or mala beads can help with your meditation.  



We hope this crash course on the chakras has helped you understand them more. At uneedum.com, we strive to promote Zen living and meditation, allowing others to find the tools to help balance their chakras and lead a positive life. Visit our website to find out more and shop for Zen gifts for your family and friends. We recommend our chakra bracelets to remind you to give attention to chakra and help balance your energy.


Remember to have fun, be good to yourself, and keep the balance. We want to make all your spaces happy places! Thanks so much for shopping with us at Uneedum!

Help us grow and follow us:   Facebook    Instagram    Twitter

Back to blog

1 comment

Where can I buy the chakra braclet beside on line

robyn twigg

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.